Yes, any loud, unnecessary, or unusual noise that disturbs, injures, or endangers the comfort, repose, health, peace, or safety of others is a violation. Between the hours of 10 p.m. and 7 a.m., any music that can be heard beyond the property line of the place it is being played is also a violation. If a violation occurs, call the police at 9-1-1. See the City Code for more information.
Click here to find out how to get a police report.
How do I keep someone from trespassing?
The Police Department has a handout (PDF) that helps explain how you can use a trespass notice to manage your property.
How do I know if a registered sex offender lives in my neighborhood?
In Minnesota, public access to information about sex offenders is limited. The Police Department will make a community notification of any level 3 sex offenders (those deemed most likely to re-offend) who move into the city, as required by law.
If I am a new resident to Minnesota, when do I need to get a new driver’s license?
Any person who becomes a resident of the state of Minnesota, who has a driver's license from another state, must obtain a Minnesota driver's license no more than 60 days after becoming a resident of this state. Contact the drivers exam station in Plymouth at 763-476-3042 for more information.
If I am involved in a car crash, do I need to call the police?
If you are involved in a crash you must stop, call law enforcement and an ambulance if necessary, and provide reasonable help to anyone injured in the crash. You must provide other drivers with your name, address and vehicle license plate number. If requested, you must show your driver's license to all drivers involved. Be sure to get the same information from the other drivers involved in the crash, as well as those of any witnesses.
You will also need to provide evidence of vehicle insurance to the police officer investigating the crash. If you are involved in a crash with unattended property, you must attempt to contact the owner, or if no owner can be found, you much leave your name, address, and vehicle license plate number. Every driver of a motor vehicle involved in a crash that results in injury or death, or total property damage of $1,000 or more, must file a crash report with the State of Minnesota within 10 days of the incident. The report may be filed online or by mail. These report forms are available at the Plymouth Police Department.
What are the requirements for obtaining a handgun permit?
To apply for a permit to purchase a handgun you must:
• Be a resident of Plymouth;
• Be at least 21 years old;
• Fill out the appropriate paperwork; and
• Pass all of the background checks required by Minnesota law.
Download the permit to purchase application. For a permit to carry a handgun, you must contact the Hennepin County Sheriff’s Office at 612-348-3740.
What can I do if I see an abandoned vehicle?
If you believe a car parked on a city street has been abandoned for more than 24 hours, call 9-1-1 to report the information to the police. A police officer will investigate the situation.
Police generally do not tow vehicles off private property. If you have a private parking lot and believe someone has abandoned a car, you can call 9-1-1 to see if the vehicle has been reported stolen. If the vehicle is stolen, we will respond and process the car. If the car has not been reported as stolen, we recommend you post a warning on the vehicle, letting the owner know your intent to tow the car if it is not moved within a certain period of time. Then contract with a private tow company to have the car removed after the time period has expired.
What do I do if I find graffiti on my property?
If you find graffiti on your property, call 9-1-1 to report it. An officer will come out and document the damage. Under city ordinance, property owners are responsible for removing graffiti from their property within 30 days after notice of the graffiti’s existence. A property owner may ask the city to remove graffiti from the owner’s property. Costs for city removal of graffiti will be assessed to property owners per ordinance requirements.
What is the curfew law?
The City of Plymouth ordinance is identical to the Hennepin County curfew ordinance, which is also observed in our neighboring cities.
Under Age 12 - Home by 9 p.m.; Friday and Saturday -- Home by 10 p.m.
Ages 12 - 14 - Home by 10 p.m.; Friday and Saturday – Home by 11 p.m.; and
Ages 15-17 - Home by 11 p.m.; Friday and Saturday – midnight.
Call 9-1-1 whenever you require a response from police, fire, or ambulance. This is true for all responses -- even non-emergencies. The dispatch facility for Plymouth is the Hennepin County Sheriff’s Department. If you call the Plymouth Police Department, you will be transferred to dispatch. (Because of recent improvements in technology you may not hear any ringing, clicking or other sounds to indicate that your 9-1-1 call has been completed. Please be patient through the period of silence and the dispatcher will answer your call.)