Protecting the Investment in Public Infrastructure

Whenever you turn on the tap, flush a toilet, drive down a city street, set out your recycling or commute downtown on a Plymouth Metrolink bus, you're coming in contact with the work of the Public Works Department.  The department has four divisions.

  • EngineeringThe Engineering Division reviews plans and specifications; designs streets, sewer and water systems; manages the street reconstruction program; and coordinates the city’s surface water programs.
  • Sewer & WaterThe Sewer and Water Division maintains: the city’s water and sewer mains; water treatment plants and well system; and is responsible for drainage maintenance.
  • Streets: The Streets Division maintains all city streets and bridges and is responsible for snow plowing.
  • Solid WasteThe Solid Waste Division manages the curbside and drop off recycling programs.

Capital Improvement Program
The City of Plymouth’s Capital Improvement Program (CIP) brings together plans for capital expenditures for the city’s streets, water system, sanitary sewer system, park system, water resources and public buildings. The CIP is generated by the Public Works Department.

Although the CIP outlines projects for the next five years, each project needs specific review and approval from the Plymouth City Council. The Planning Commission, City Council and city staff review and update the CIP annually.

 

Contacts

Doran Cote
Public Works Director
763-509-5500
dcote@plymouthmn.gov

Gary Smith
Street Supervisor
763-509-5993
gsmith@plymouthmn.gov

Scott Newberger 
Utilities Supervisor 
763-509-5999
snewber@plymouthmn.gov

Jim Renneberg
City Engineer
763-509-5541
jrenneberg@plymouthmn.gov

Mike Payne
Assistant City Engineer
763-509-5538
mpayne@plymouthmn.gov  

        Derek Asche           

Water Resources Manager

763-509-5526

dasche@plymouthmn.gov  

 

Sarah Hellekson

Solid Waste Coordinator
763-509-5052

shellekson@plymouthmn.gov

Contacts
Engineering Division
Plymouth City Hall | 3400 Plymouth Blvd. | Plymouth, MN 55447-1482
P 763-509-5500 | F 763-509-5510 | engineering@plymouthmn.gov

Sewer & Water and Street Divisions
Maintenance Facility | 14900 23rd Ave. N. | Plymouth, MN 55447
P 763.509.5950 | F 763.509.5955 | publicworks@plymouthmn.gov

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer